There are many reasons why you might decide to try a gluten free diet; maybe you just got diagnosed with Celiac disease, or maybe you did an elimination diet and realized that you are gluten intolerant. Either way, it can be a little overwhelming when you’re trying to get started, especially if you’re trying to stay on track with your calorie intake. So we’ve assembled this 14 day meal plan to help you kickstart your new diet.
Calorie goal: about 1500 cals. per day
This is a list of every ingredient you could need for this meal plan. It seems extensive, but you will probably find that you have a lot of these in your kitchen already. And the ones you don’t already have, particularly the basics, are great staples to keep on hand for all sorts of recipes, and one bottle/pack will last you months. Also feel free to use this plan as a guideline, you can make all the substitutions you want! This is your diet and your life, so customize it however you like!
||Fruits & Veggies:
*If you are looking to completely cut out all gluten, including cross-contamination due to an allergy or Celiac, you have to be extra careful! Even though nuts are naturally gluten free, many companies or factories that process nuts and dried fruit also process other products which are NOT gluten free. Make sure to always check the label to make sure the package does not say “may contain wheat.”
**Same goes for peanut butter, don’t assume they are gluten free, even when the label doesn’t list gluten or wheat as a potential allergen. Look in the health food section for a brand that explicitly states GF on the label, or reach out the customer service department of your favorite peanut butter brand to inquire about allergen information.
***The good news is; oats are naturally gluten free, the bad news is; rarely are they processed in isolation from other gluten containing grains. However, there are brands that make certified gluten free oats and you can usually find them in the health food section of your grocery store or in your local health food store.
****Unfortunately, just because it is a “corn” tortilla, doesn’t mean that it is gluten free. Most regular tortilla brands are made with wheat, as well as corn. But again, there are companies that make 100% gluten free tortillas! Check in the freezer section of your local health food store.